Forty-six states, the District of Columbia and four Canadian provinces currently offer some type of credential to professionals in the massage and bodywork field – usually licensure, certification or registration.

To view requirements click on a state or province listed below.

Note: Even if your state or province is listed here, check with city or county officials for information about local requirements and ordinances.

Alabama Alaska
Arizona Arkansas
California Colorado
Connecticut Delaware
Florida Georgia
Hawaii Idaho
Illinois Indiana
Iowa Kentucky
Louisiana Maine
Massachusetts Maryland
Minnesota Michigan
Missouri Mississippi
Montana Nebraska
New Jersey Nevada
New York New Hampshire
North Carolina New Mexico
North Dakota Ohio
Oregon Pennsylvania
Rhode Island South Carolina
South Dakota Tennessee
Texas Utah
Virginia Washington
Washington D.C. West Virginia